Start Planning
Jour de l’Ascension

Jour de l’Ascension 2017 et 2018

Pour les Chrétiens du monde, le jour de l’Ascension célèbre la montée de Jésus Christ au paradis.

AnDateJournéeJour férié
201725 maijeudiAscension
201810 maijeudiAscension

C’est une fête mobile qui dépend de la date de Pâques. Après sa résurrection, Jésus passa 40 jours avec ses disciples et l’Ascension est célébrée un jeudi, 40 jours après le dimanche de Pâques.

De nombreux pays dans le monde considèrent l’Ascension comme un jour saint mais tous n’ont pas une journée de congé. En France et dans de nombreux pays européens, c’est un jour férié et les magasins, les banques, les bureaux de poste et les écoles sont fermés. Les musées sont ouverts en général mais il est prudent de se renseigner si l’on souhaite y aller.

En France ce jour-là, les chrétiens vont à l’église et profitent d’un jour de vacance printanier. Pour certains, le plat traditionnel de l’Ascension est une volaille mais c’est aussi à cette période qu’arrivent les produits de printemps à travers tout le pays : l’agneau, les asperges, les salades d’avocat et de romaine, les salades de pommes de terre nouvelles, les soupes de champignon, les abricots, les figues et les citrons. De nombreux Français terminent leur repas par des crêpes au chocolat et aux noisettes ou par un sorbet à la menthe.

S’il fait beau, les citadins déjeunent dans les parcs. C’est aussi l’occasion d’événements sportifs comme des courses cyclistes et certains villages organisent ce jour-là leur festival culturel local.

Même si les magasins sont fermés, de nombreux cafés et restaurants restent ouverts. Les boulangeries ouvrent le temps de prendre un café et des croissants et certains restaurants ouvrent le soir pour le dîner.

Start Planning
Ascension Day
Major holiday before thisVictory in Europe Day
Major holiday after thisPentecost

Ascension Day 2018 and 2019

Ascension Day is the day when Christians around the world celebrate the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven in the fourth decade AD.

YearDateDayHoliday
201810 MayThuAscension Day
201930 MayThuAscension Day
Most viewed holidays today:

It is a moveable holiday and depends on when Easter occurs. Ascension Day is celebrated on a Thursday, 40 days after Easter Sunday because, before his ascension, Jesus spent 40 days with his disciples after he rose from death.

Around the world, many countries consider Ascension Day as a holy day, but many don’t take a public holiday on this day. Here in France, as well as in several other European countries, it is a public holiday and shops, banks, post offices and schools are closed. Museums are often open but check if you’re thinking of visiting.

In France on this day, Christians usually attend church services before enjoying a Spring day off. For some, the traditional food on Ascension Day is poultry but, across France, the seasonal fair is the spring foods: young lamb, asparagus, avocado and romaine salad, new-potato salad, mushroom soups, apricots, figs and citrus. And how many of the French would not have a chocolate and hazelnut crepe, or mint sorbet to finish their public holiday meals?

If the weather is fine, people take their lunches to the parks in their towns or cities. There are other events like bike tours across the countryside and sporting events, and some villages hold their own local, cultural festivals.

Although shops are closed on this day, many cafes and restaurants open for a few hours. The boulangeries might open for just long enough to pick up a croissant and coffee, and some restaurants might open in the evening for dinner.