Start Planning
Fête du Travail

Fête du Travail 2018 et 2019

En France, la Fête du Travail est un jour férié au cours duquel on célèbre les contributions des travailleurs à la société.

AnDateJournéeJour férié
20181 maimardiFête du Travail
20191 maimercrediFête du Travail
Jours fériés populaires:

La Fête du Travail a lieu tous les ans, le 1er  mai. On appelle également cette journée la Fête du Muguet. La Fête du Travail est célébrée dans de nombreux pays du monde, mais en France elle est unique car elle associe la tradition générale à des traditions historiques typiquement françaises. Cette journée de congé permet de passer du temps avec ses amis et les membres de sa famille. Le 1er  mai, les banques et la plupart des entreprises sont fermées.

Histoire

En 1886, dans une usine de Chicago, un groupe d’ouvriers constitua un syndicat afin de lutter pour obtenir des salaires plus élevés et des conditions de travail plus sûres. Lors d’un rassemblement sur le Haymarket Square une émeute éclata, suite à l’attaque d’un groupe d’anarchistes. Plusieurs manifestants furent blessés ou tués. En solidarité, des travailleurs du monde entier se rassemblèrent pour honorer la cause des travailleurs tués et par la suite beaucoup d’entre eux virent s’améliorer leurs conditions de travail. La France fut une des premières nations à instituer la Fête du Travail qui est devenue une fête officielle française le 24 avril 1941.

La Fête du Travail et les traditions de printemps

Avant qu’il ne devienne le jour de la Fête du travail, le 1er mai était réservé à la célébration du printemps, des premières journées chaudes et de la paix. Beaucoup de couples se rencontraient et se formaient en vue du mariage. Pour faciliter la recherche d’un conjoint, les gens allaient danser lors de ce que l’on appelait les “bals de mai”.

Le muguet

Le 1er mai, une fleur très populaire, le muguet, est vendue partout en France. On en trouve dans presque toutes les forêts de France mais la majeure partie du muguet vendu ce jour-là vient de Nantes.

Selon une légende française, le muguet serait né des larmes d’Eve lorsqu’elle dû quitter le Jardin d’Eden. D’autres histoires suggèrent que cette fleur viendrait des larmes de Marie après la crucifixion du Christ. Même si l’on peut débattre des origines du muguet, il est certain que la tradition est ancienne et remonte au moins à 1561. A cette date, le roi de France Charles IX, reçut du muguet comme porte-bonheur. Ensuite la tradition se répandit, et dans la noblesse française on offrait du muguet aux dames de la cour. Au XXème siècle, la coutume gagna le peuple de France. Offrir du muguet devint un signe d’amitié. Le 1er mai, les gens offraient cette fleur à leurs amis et collègues. Aujourd’hui la tradition continue. Les patrons offrent du muguet à leurs employés, les étudiants en offrent aux professeurs qu’ils apprécient.

Le muguet n’est pas taxé par l’État français. Traditionnellement, la vente de cette fleur était réservée aux personnes sans emploi. La vente du muguet génère un chiffre d’affaire qui dépasse les 25 millions d’euros.

Le jour de la Fête du Travail, est un jour férié qui donne aux Français la possibilité de célébrer les travailleurs et leur contribution à la société. C’est aussi une journée réservée aux traditions familiales et culturelles.

Start Planning
Labour Day
Major holiday before thisEaster
Major holiday after thisVictory in Europe Day

Labour Day 2018 and 2019

Labour Day is a public holiday in France that celebrates workers’ contributions to society.

YearDateDayHoliday
20181 MayTueLabour Day
20191 MayWedLabour Day
Most viewed holidays today:

The holiday is celebrated annually on May 1. In French, Labour Day is known as Fete du Travail. It is also often referred to as Fete du Muguet. In French, this means May Day. While Labour Day is celebrated in many areas of the world, the French holiday is unique due to a combination of global and historical French traditions. Fete du Travail is a time for the French people to spend time with their friends and family members while enjoying a day off from work. All banks and most businesses are closed during Labour Day in France.

History

In 1886, a group of factory workers formed a union and gathered in Chicago’s Haymarket Square. These American workers had the intention of fighting for increased wages and safe working conditions. Unfortunately, a riot broke out due to an attack by several anarchists. This riot left many of the protesters dead or seriously wounded. In a show of solidarity, workers from across the globe gathered to honour the cause of the massacred workers. In the end, many workers from across the world experienced improved working conditions. France was among one of the first nations to observe the holiday, but Labour Day did not become an official French holiday until April 24, 1941.

Combination of Labour Day with Spring Traditions

Prior to the establishment of Labour Day in France, May 1 was a day reserved for spring celebrations. To celebrate warm weather and peace, many couples went on dates and suitors pursued potential spouses. To make finding a spouse simpler for French people, many formal dances were created for the holiday. These dances became known as the Balls of May.

The Lilies of the Valley

On May Day, a flower known as the “lily of the valley” is quite popular. Lilies of the valley are sold in most areas of France during Labour Day. While lilies of the valley can be found in several forests in the French countryside, most of the flowers that are sold come from Nantes.

According to French traditions, the lily of the valley is a flower that originated from Eve’s tears when she was forced to leave the Garden of Eden. Other stories suggest that the flower was formed from the tears of Mary after the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. While the origin stories may be debated, it is certain that lilies of the valley were distributed as early as 1561 CE. In 1561, King Charles IX of France received a lily of the valley as a lucky charm. Soon after this, the French monarchy began giving lilies of the valley to the ladies of the court. In the 20th century, the practice expanded to the common people of France. Lilies of the valley became tokens of appreciation. On May 1, people gave the flowers to their friends and colleagues. During the modern May Day holidays, employers give lilies of the valley to their workers. It is also a common practice for students to give lilies of the valley to their favourite instructors.

Lilies of the valley are not taxed by the government of France. Traditionally, sales from the flowers were used to assist unemployed people. In the past, annual profits from lilies of the valley exceeded €25 million.

Labour Day is a French holiday that gives the French people an opportunity to celebrate workers and their contributions to society. It is also a time of many familial and cultural traditions.